Morning Briefing-1/12/12

Good morning one and all,

This is your morning briefing.

Just getting the day off to a positive start. It’s 6:00 AM here in Bismarck, the time of the morning when other indolent souls are hitting snooze bars and trying to snatch a few more precious moments in semi-peaceful repose before they face the harsh realities of their lives. I, for one, am not among them, and I rise this early, which is not my usual practice, to inquire of the early TV news shows, “Have we destroyed ourselves while I was sleeping?” Satisfied that we have not, though in some areas, we are in danger of doing so, I am ready to gird my loins for whatever life, and fate, has in store for me today.

My two Siamese friends must think it strange for me to change my usual routine in this manner, however, after I tend to their food and fresh water, they seem satisfied that I have not taken leave of my senses, and they are pleased I’m so considerate of their needs. I am pleased that they are pleased. The thing I enjoy about their company in my house is they keep me grounded in a way I should have a difficult time being were they not here. As they are dependent on me to attend to their needs, it reminds me daily that I am not the center of the universe.

God! I can’t believe how dark it remains at this hour of the day this time of year. Streets are still quiet, but not for long, as a slumbering city begins to rouse itself and prepare surprises for unsuspecting individuals such as yours truly. I look forward to what lies ahead.

It’s garbage pickup day here, and Waste Management is doing it’s best to rouse any remaining late sleepers from restless slumber with the banging and clanging of their collection process. Prior to right now, I would have numbered among those who cursed the intrusion, but not today. I beat them to it.

Well, there’s the morning briefing. You are now free to go about your business and I hope you enjoy the day ahead and greet what it has in store for you with open arms, for today is all there is for sure.

Bob.

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

