Morning Briefing-1/13/12

Good morning one and all. This is…Your Morning Briefing for Saturday, January 14, 2012.

I woke up this morning with Dylan playing in my mind. How he got in there with his whole group, I’ll never know. My mind is already crowded, but after a few minutes I realized it’s not a bad way to wake up.

First a sports update for those of you who may have missed it, Sioux over Gophers 2-1 in a great game.

We had a light dusting of snow overnight, but it is still unseasonably warm here for mid-January. This weekend it will be in the high 30’s, then on Monday back to what we normally think of when it comes to January temps.

I’m plan to continue to do this for the foreseeable future because my muse is demanding that I do it, and my muse will not be denied.

My muse dropped in a few weeks ago, and shows no sign of leaving. First let me say, she’s come calling before, in fact many times over the years, but her visits were usually of short duration. She would drop in unannounced and harass me for a short while and then one morning she would disappear. No doubt she was off to plague some other poor, unsuspecting schmuck who who thought he might have a story to tell.

Let me say, I welcome her and have always looked forward to her visits. She’s was never been like the unwelcome house guest that stays beyond the accepted three day threshold. I don’t mind her being here, despite the fact that at times it makes my small residence seem a bit crowded

She adores Bailey and Brandy. If she didn’t, it would complicate our relationship more than it already is. They have become accustomed to her presence and have to come to accept her as part of our lives. However, my furry friends still look to me for their daily treats, as if they know she hasn’t brought anything to the house with her, except a desire to inspire. All in all, I am pleased she has come, and for my part she can stay as long as she likes.

I posted a thought I had about candles the other day on FB, in which I said: “I love candles. They provide a warm, friendly light. I have had two on my table for a couple of weeks now, and even though they burn at about the same rate, over time, each one takes on a different shape. Kind of like us humans. But the light still shines bright.”

Those candles are still on my table. I put them out Christmas Eve. They were both the same height when I set them there in proximity to each other. They have both been subject to the same air currents and have been lit the same number of hours, yet melted differently.

While I had no thought, or desire to venture into the mine field of political debate when I began writing these short epistles, I couldn’t resist this. Just shows you how weak I am. I never thought that candles could be used as a metaphor for our current political divide, as well as the one I alluded to previously. Think of it this way; the green one is a liberal Democrat and the red a moderate Republican, or conservative, if you would like it that way. You will notice that the green one leans far to the left, and is in danger of tipping over and spilling wax all over my butcher block table. The red one, on the other hand shows some minor liberal tendencies on its left side, and some very minor conservative tendencies on its right side, but all told, it seems rather middle of the road. Seems like the green one is leaning as far away as it can from the red one, even though they are on the same table, not unlike Congress. Also, I promise you, I did not manipulate them to make this point, after all, I am not a politician. That’s just the way they burned and melted.

The thing I like about metaphors is that you can make them out of anything you want, so look at the picture and feel free to make up your own. I won’t mind.

Bailey, Brandy and I have a pool going on when the green one topples. If they win, they get treats. If I win I get to clean the wax off my table. And so it goes

Well, there’s your morning briefing so you are now free to go about your business, and remember, if your own muse comes calling, welcome her with open arms. She will always treat you right even though she can be very demanding.

Take care, be well and keep in touch.

Bob

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

