Morning Briefing-1/17/12

Good morning all, this is Your Morning Briefing for Tuesday, January 17, 2012.

Weather in a word. Cold. Looking good for the weekend. Still no snow. It continues to amaze, all I meet..

Looking at the candles on my table, you know the green one and the red one I’ve written about, and the thought struck me how much like life they are. I know I earlier made a political metaphor out of them, but that was being playful with the idea of candles and current politics. It was pointed out to me by my friend Dean Meyer, my metaphor broke down when you viewed the candles from the opposite side. He was right, of course.

Last night, I looked at them in a different light, no pun intended. It struck me when one lights a candle how full of promise it is. Much like the promise that comes with a newborn child. You don’t know how it’s going to develop, nor how long it will last. Like children they begin by burning bright, and as you nurture them, or in the case of candles, trim their wicks, they continue to surprise you, as they grow and glow. The different shapes they take on, over time, even though they sit next to one another is like magic to me. All the time this is happening, the light coming from a child, or a candle, delights with hope, promise and a warmth that can touch your heart.

The melted candle wax also gives another dimension. I’ve, always liked the drippings for it adds a bit of character to a candle as it drips, flows and cools. Though modern candle making has tried to take the romance out of them by manufacturing dripless candles. I say, “Let the candles drip, it’s what makes them unique!” Not unlike letting a child grow.

Even Brandy inspects them every night when she joins me at the table. She is careful to not get to close, as if she knows they could do her harm, but she nevertheless approaches, sniffs around them and watches the flames that light up the half-darkness that surrounds us. I like to think she approves and is glad they are there. Bailey, on the other hand, seems indifferent.

Candles light up our lives, like children do, and then, like us, to soon fade. Their flame gets smaller, flickers and is extinguished, to be replaced by another which provides more of the magic of hope, promise and warmth a human soul needs. And the circle continues. Much like life.

What of the candles you light

That’s your morning briefing. Now, please feel free go about your day. Smell the roses, have a laugh, kiss a cheek, give someone a hug and tell them you love them. I think you will find it rewarding.

Take care, be well and keep in touch

Bob

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

