Your Morning Briefing

Good morning one and all, this is Your Morning Briefing for Friday, January 20, 2012.

I have decided to continue to invade your inbox in the morning if that’s okay with you all. I reconsidered my earlier decision to suspend these and put them on my blog instead. They will continue to appear there for as long as I do this.

The red candle continues to burn. I noticed last night that she seems to melting more to the left than previously, at least from where I sit. The green candle still sits next to her, and I like to imagine she knows that and misses her friend. Crazy and impossible you say? Probably so, but people have said the same thing of Unicorns and cows that jump over the moon.

Now then the big announcement about my muse. Those of you who have been following these updates know, I have grown to adore her and hope she stays in my house forever.

I was thinking the other night as I looked at her sitting directly across from me, with Brandy on her lap, and wondered why she had never told me her name. She never introduced herself when she arrived at my doorstep and came walking into my humble metal cocoon. So I asked. ¬†She looked at me with those clear, brilliant, green eyes and quietly said, “You don’t need to know my name, it’s enough to know that I’m here.”

I told her I, as I’ve told her before, I’m glad she’s here, but I didn’t think it was fair keep referring to her using the impersonal term, “my muse,” when telling others of my newly found love for her and the inspiration she has brought to my butcher block table. Besides that, I said, “Brandy and Bailey have come to love you as much as I do, and I think they would prefer to have a name to call you as well, (Siamese are like that) even though they have come to terms with the fact you don’t bring treats for them.”

Again, she looked at me and quietly said, “If it pleases you, call me what you will, but remember, I shall be here no longer than I feel I’m needed regardless of what you call me.”

I decided moments later that I shall call her Suzanne. That name came to me while I was listening to James Taylor’s version of the Leonard Cohen classic, “Suzanne.” The song, and the poem it came from, is a paean to a young woman Cohen knew in Montreal when he was first finding his way as a singer/songwriter. Her name is Suzanne.

I listened to the haunting quality of the lyrics and melody that carried them and was struck by the words”…she shows you where to look among the garbage and the flowers…”

That’s what Suzanne is doing for me.

That’s your morning update for today. You know what to do next.

Take care, be well and keep in touch.

Bob

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

