Your Morning Briefing

Good morning one and all. This is Your Morning Briefing, Saturday, January 21, 2012.

It has occurred to me that while I have told you all that I shall call my new friend Suzanne, you don’t know what she looks like.

As we sat yesterday afternoon at opposite ends of the butcher block, me in front of the laptop, her sipping tea and puffing on a thin, long, dark cigar, with wisps of smoke curling around her profoundly beautiful face, I thought, “I need to show the world this picture.”

I rose from my chair, went to the counter where my trusty Nikon 35 digital camera lay, grabbed it, and sat back down ready to shoot the picture.  The whole time I was doing so, she sat,  smiling, sipping and smoking, and in what was just short of a whisper, said to me, “No one has need of a picture of me, and if you do, all you have to do is close your eyes and think of this time together. You will see.”

I clicked the shutter, then looked at the small screen on the back of the camera for an image. There was an empty chair where she sat.

I looked back at the opposite end of the table, and there she sat, smiling.

I decided then, if I needed to, I would just close my eyes.

That’s your morning update. You know what to do next.

Take care, be well and keep in touch.

Bob

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

