Dancing With Dreams

Good morning all. This is Your Morning Briefing, January 31, 2012

“So what about this dancing with dreams thing I’ve been trying to get you to explain to me?”  I began our daily afternoon conversation with that question, mainly because it was driving me bats.

Suzanne looked at me and said, “Bobby, I’ll try and tell you, and hope we don’t get side tracked again. There’s so much to it, but I will try and get to the core.”

So, on she went. “First of all, there is a difference between chasing your dreams v. dancing with your dreams.”

When she said dreams v. dancing, my first thought was, “Here we go again,” and then I said, “Are you sure you aren’t a lawyer as well?”

“Hush,” she said, “Just listen. When you start chasing dreams, its often like trying to capture wispy threads of gossamer on a windy day, holding quicksilver in your fingers or trying to step in the same river twice. It can’t be done. You have done that times in your life and I know you know what I’m talking about.”

I had to admit, after I thought about it, I did.

“The difference,” she went on, “is the dreams you were chasing those times were all impossible dreams. The dreams you can dance with are those you make your own…can make real. Just as you learned to dance with your demons, you will find by learning to dance with the dreams you have today, they can be made real, if you only let yourself let it happen.”

“But, Suze, how do I know the difference, and how do I know the dreams I have today are not impossible ones too?”

“Bobby, I know the dreams you have today, and they are not impossible. You have a story or two to tell that are both highly personal, and I’m here to help you give wings to the voice you need to tell those stories.”

I told Suzanne,  I hoped she didn’t plan on leaving anytime soon, this could take a while. Besides, I have really grown quite fond of her. Actually that’s an understatement. Think champagne and strawberries.

I thought to myself this morning how much I wished Joanie, and my sister Joni were alive to see what’s going on with me right now. I think they would like it, and they would like Suzanne as well for what she has brought to my home.

Take care, be well and keep in touch.

Bob

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

