What’s in a Name

Good morning all. This is Your Morning Briefing, February, 2, 2012.

Suzanne told me yesterday, we should take the afternoon off and talk of such things that do not matter and are not related to why she is here. I thought it was a good idea. Some of what she is trying to show me takes a while to digest anyway.

I asked her what she would like to talk about, if anything.

She said, “Oh nothing really, I just had a question about what is happening in the current election cycle in this country.” I told her she wasn’t the only one and she was in good company, and also asked her if she’d been watching TV after I had retired for the evening. The TV is never on during the day except early morning to check to make sure we haven’t blown ourselves, or somebody else up yet.

“So, what’s on your mind, sweetheart?” I asked.

She told me she was interested in how candidates could say such things about each other and not come to blows, and that in Athenian politics when she was growing up you didn’t see such goings on. I love her, but wonder about her memory in this area.

I told her one candidate’s consultants tell him to say such and such, and then the other candidate’s consultants tell their guy to say something negative about the other guy, and so it goes.

“Why do they do that?” Suzanne asked. I just told her that consultants think that saying bad things can move the polls. “So,” she said, ‘it’s some kind of game.” I told her she could think of it that way, and I could tell she was catching on.

Then she wanted to know about names, something I’d never thought to much about. “Did you ever think about the names of the two top contenders for  the nomination to challenge your current president?”

I had to admit I never had given it a thought. “Well, did you know the name “Newt” is another name for a salamander? It is also the name for a mythical being, especially a lizard.” I had to give her that there are some who think of Newt that way.

“Well,” I said, “aren’t you a mythical being?”

She said, “I may be, or I may not be, but Bobby,  you’re making me real, and you know that I’m real to you.” I had to admit she was right. So what about Mitt?”

“How can anyone be president who’s named after a long glove that leaves the lower end of the fingers bare, is made of lace or some other fancy material and is worn by women? You don’t see many men wearing anything like that.” I thought, “You haven’t been to San Francisco.” I then had to give her there are those who think of Mitt that way.

“So,” she says to me, “seems to me, people who are voting in these primaries have a choice between a lizard and a guy who wears women’s gloves.” I always figured her for a quick study.

Anyway, we talked about it for a moment or two longer and came to agreement that right now that we’d leave what all of this means to CNN, Fox, CBS etc., and get back to the business at hand. She couldn’t vote here anyway. But then I realized it won’t be long before she could establish residence here if she wanted to, and do so.

Personally, I wouldn’t mind if she did.

Take care, be well and keep in touch. You know what to do.

Bob

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

