Sunday Morning With Suzanne

Good morning all. This is Your Morning Update, February 5, 2012.

The sun is shining brightly this morning on a windless, cloudless day that promises again to bring us 50 degrees. Incredible for Bismarck in February.

Today is Sunday, or as it has become to be known, “Super Sunday,” the day when the whole country comes to a standstill for a few hours while 22 millionaires, who play on billionaire’s teams, take to the field for a kids game, and most of the people watching are waiting for the next big commercial.

For me, Sundays have become “Sunday Mornings with Suzanne.” This Sunday is no exception.

It’s a quiet time this morning here at #1805, and I’ve taken care of my obligations to Brandy and Bailey, food, water and the cleaning of the litter box, and they already are taking their morning naps, Bailey lying on the living room floor next to the scratch board, and Brandy under one of the living room chairs.

CBS Sunday Morning is on the TV, Suzanne is sitting across from me with her green tea, scone and holding one of those sweet-smelling, long, thin, dark cigars she seems to have an endless supply of. I have just come back from picking up my weekly Starbucks jolt and gingerbread biscotti. Later will come bagels, bacon and cream cheese. All in all, it is a perfectly relaxing day. I asked Suzanne if she got that same feeling today, and she said, “Bobby, I do like your Sundays so, and I enjoy the reflective mood that seems to come with them.”

I allowed as to how that’s true, and since things seem to slow down on Sundays, it is conducive to remembering and reflecting. Sort of a time to not be in a hurry. That probably explains why this morning briefing isn’t coming out til’ around noon today. I’m okay with that.

“Suze, I have a question for you.”

“Bobby, you can ask me anything you like, you know that.” she said.

I thought, “Yeah, right. Then she will answer me with some incomprehensible statement that would make any politician proud.” Then I said, “There are some of my friends who think it strange that I write what I write about visits with a muse, and quite frankly I’ve thought about that myself. I do it anyway, and have found it to be quite enjoyable, at least for me. What do you make of it?”

“Well, Robert,” she started out seeming serious, “First of all, that you find it enjoyable to write what you write is all that matters,  secondly, do people think it strange you talk about, and to your cats as they talk to their pets, and lastly, are you sure you aren’t hearing from fuzzlewumps?”

I told her they don’t seem like fuzzlewumps, and that they were pretty normal people.

“Yes, they probably are,” she said,  “but maybe they haven’t figured out that you’re learning to play with words again, and, as I’ve said before, you have to be careful to not let fuzzlewumps infuselate your brainiatrics. If you let the fuzzlewumps win, Bobby, even those who do understand what you’re doing will lose interest and you will be back to the beginning and my time here will have been wasted.”

I said, “Suzanne, not to worry, I’m having to much fun doing what I do right now.”

She laughed, and said, “Bobby, not as much fun as I’m having.”

Take care, laugh, be well and keep in touch.

Bob

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

