That Kid Would Never Listen

Good morning all. This is Your Morning Briefing, February, 8, 2012.

So, where is all of this coming from, and where is it going to? Frankly, I have no idea, but Suzanne and I talked about it a bit when we sat down yesterday. I wondered what she means every time I say something or write something, she just says, “You’re getting closer.”

Since she came into this house, as humble as it is, she has said things about “dancing with your dreams, and dancing close to the flame,” and so I asked my darling little muse directly what the hell she meant by the latter.

“Bobby, dancing close to the flame and not getting burned is what you can learn from my cousin Icarus’ experience.” she said.

I said, “Hold it right there. You’re not going to tell me that your cousin was Icarus, the poor schmuck that flew to close to the sun with nothing but wings made of feathers and wax, and ended up splat, at least according to Greek mythology?”

“One and the same, and it wasn’t mythology, it was very real. His father, Daedulus was my father’s younger brother. Icarus and I sort of grew up together and used to play a lot with each other as we were growing up. We’d go to the Acropolis, and run around, peak into the Parthenon and sneak into the Dionysos Theater during matinees, and after the theater would empty out and there was no one else around, we’d get up on the stage and put on our own play, and we’d laugh and laugh, and imagine ourselves performing in front of 17,000 people, which is what the theater could seat. It was such fun we had.

“Then, as we got older we’d go to the Temple of Zeus Comedy Club for open mike night, and hear all of the aspiring comics try out their new material.”

“What happened that Icarus got in the fix he was in?” I asked.

She said, “It was nothing he did, but his father got in to some kind of trouble with the king, and they were exiled to a palace on the island of Crete, which was better than the alternative as you can imagine. We didn’t think being exiled to a palace on Crete was such a bad thing, but they did. I think mainly because they couldn’t see a lot of their old friends and family.

“Anyway, his dad, who was quite an inventive kind of guy, found a way out. He built wings for the both of them made of feathers and wax that would enable them to fly back to the mainland. The only thing his dad told him before the took off was to be careful and not fly to close to the sun. Icarus, being a typical young guy, full of hubris, figured his dad was just being to cautious, and took off. Well, you know what happened as he ignored his dad’s warning. His wings of wax and feathers melted, and he went splat. We all felt bad, but were not surprised.

His dad made it back okay, and the only thing he could say was, “That kid would never listen.”

“So what’s that got to do with me?” I asked.

Suzanne smiled and said, “Bobby, I know you are not going to be trying to build wings of feathers and wax, but I know you are trying to give wings to your words. What I’m trying to show you is how to do that while getting as close to the flame as you can without suffering the same fate as my silly cousin. And, the longer I’m here with you, the less I worry about that.”

Again, I’m not totally sure what she meant. I hope to get to the bottom of it one of these days.

Take care, be well and keep in touch. You know what to do.

Bob

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

