Suzanne and Her Aunt

Good morning all. This is Your Morning Briefing, February 10, 2012.

Suzanne, Bailey and Brandy and I spent a quiet evening last night. She sat there in the warm glow of candlelight while our two Siamese friends vied for attention from her. Somehow, they seem to purr louder when one of them is on her lap and she strokes them so slowly it seems as if they are lost in some primeval landscape where cat dreams come true.  Something seems to have come over them since she came here, and it is like they are on a wavelength that is beyond what I can feel, or understand. I had first noticed it that Sunday morning when she was playing the pan flute, and they seemed transfixed by her musical magic. I have to admit I was as well. And, for that matter still am.

I had turned out the normal light in my kitchen last night, and so the only light that lit up our space was from the single candle on the table that cast the shadows that danced around us at either ends of the butcher block. Me, sitting opposite, and she seeming to glow brighter at the other end I couldn’t help but forget what she was here for in the first place.

This muse I call Suzanne, this goddess from another time and place, had turned my life upside down, and I have known no other thing like it in all of my years. I looked at her last night in that candlelight, and thought that she is so damn beautiful that all of this had to be a dream, and one that I didn’t want to wake up from. I hungered for more information about her and where she was from.

I asked Suzanne if she weren’t related to Aphrodite, the Greek goddess of beauty and love. After all, she seemed to be related to everyone else I could think of from way back then.

“Bobby,” she said, with a twinkle in her emerald green eyes, “Do you want me to be?” Again, she answers my question with a question.

So, I asked her how she was related to her. She told me Aphrodite was her great aunt, and she had been like a mentor to her and, “I learned a lot from her.”  “Like what?” I asked her.

“Well,” she began, “Even though she was the wife of Ares, the god of war, she was his polar opposite. She would on occasion help him out in his battles, which she saw as part of her wifely duty, but her main object was to plant love in the hearts of humans and gods alike. She was, as you have imagined, a most beautiful woman, and she used that beauty to help her plant those seeds.”

“My, my,” I said, “At least now I know where you got your incredible looks, not to mention your great body.” Her cheeks flushed red, and she said, “You are being a naughty boy again,” and she laughed.

“Okay,” I said, “How much power did she have, as this goddess of beauty and love?”

“Well Bobby,” she said, “When she decided to give the gift of love to humans, or gods, they were powerless to resist.”

I couldn’t help but think of the place I was in presently.

“Also,” she said, “wild animals would become tame when she would come near them when she had decided to give them her gift, her power was so strong.”

When she said that, I thought that Suzanne had the same ability. Bailey and Brandy, who are as far from the wild as you can get, are still somehow different whenever she holds them, or even just looks at them or talks to them.

I said, “Okay, so she was this beauty, and had these powers, and even the gods listened to her, but what have you learned from her?”

She paused for moment, looked at me and our feline companions, and said, ” Bobby, out of beauty and love, the most important is the beauty of love.”

I couldn’t argue with her, for I am as powerless as the gods must have felt when faced with her great aunt.

Take care, be well and keep in touch. Tell someone you love that you do.

Bob

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

