Valentine’s Day 2012

Good morning all. This is Your Morning Briefing, February 14, 2012.

Suzanne asked me this morning, “Are you getting anything for anyone for this, what you call Valentine’s Day?”

I thought for a minute and said, “Well, I had thought about sending my ex-wife Mary Ann some flowers, but wondered if it would be appropriate and wondered how her husband Wayne would feel about it. Then I thought, what the hell, I couldn’t afford to do it anyway, so I guess the answer is no. But in your case, I think I can think of something, so the answer might be yes.”

“Bobby,” she said, “you are being a mischievous little rascal now.”

“So, what about you,” I asked, “you’re a long way from home, are you expecting to get anything or sending something to ‘that someone special,’ or are you just going to be content to spend the day with me and the cats? After all, we probably have your aunt Aphrodite to thank for this day.” I also told her with my computer she could send an e-card to anyone in the world she wanted to, but she declined.

She told me she wasn’t expecting anything from anyone she had any interest in. Then she asked, “What about you? You are the romantic one, and you must think about it.” I told her there was nothing I expected, and that Valentine’s Day anymore was just another day that reminds me that what I once had, I have no longer.

“Oh Bobby, so it did mean something to you at one time, and here I thought you had chalked it all up to Hallmark and FTD florists anyway.” She said.

I could only answer it appeared that way, but it wasn’t always. Now I prefer to think of it as for other people, and still believe the romance of this day descended from her great aunt. “And, by the way,” I said, “you told me she had been married to Ares. Are you sure she just didn’t have a thing going with him for a while? She seemed like quite a saucy broad if I might say so.”

“Well,” she said, “her father Zeus had married her off to a craftsman to keep the competition for her hand down, and a check on his beautiful daughter, and even though her new husband was devoted to her, he didn’t share the same love of the night life she did. She did love to party. So, she would often be out alone, and as you can imagine there were a lot of men who were interested in her.”

“Not unlike you,” I said, imagining what would happen if she showed up unaccompanied at the Elbow Room or some of the other places I frequent.

She just smiled with that look that said, “I am not my aunt’s niece.” So, yes, she admitted that her aunt slept around a bit and could have been considered a naughty girl,(It was here I realized that muses are given to understatement, especially when it comes to relatives, just like all of us.) but that didn’t change her impact on Greek life and history. In fact one of her sons was named Eros, a name that is quite familiar, especially around this day. “However,” she added, “even given all of that, and it was common knowledge, she was, and still is to this day, much revered for the love she brought and would give freely to all of us.”

“So,” I asked, “what does it all this Valentine’s Day stuff mean to you as we sit here today, given your history and the history of your family?”

The look on her face softened, and her eyes seemed to sparkle slightly in the gentle glow of the lone candle, she paused and looked at me and said quietly, “My dear friend Robert, to me quite simply, it’s a day when people who love each other do something special for one they love that they should be doing every other day.”

I thought for a moment and said to Suzanne, also quietly, “Tonight we shall have champagne and strawberries.”

She smiled.

Take care, be well and keep in touch.

Bob

P.S. From all of us at 1821 N. 11th St., #1805, Suzanne, Brandy, Bailey and me, have a great day today, and tell someone you love, that you do.

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

