Making Believe

Good morning. This is Your Morning Briefing, February 16, 2012.

“Do you believe in make believe?” I asked Suzanne.

“Of course I do, Bobby,” she said, looking at me as if I had just asked the dumbest question ever. “What do you think I’m doing here?”

“Well,” I said, “I guess I knew you did. And, after all, you have come to visit me from a long time ago to get me off my duff and get busy.”

She laughed and said, “Bobby, that’s right, and I’m here for a lot of the other reasons I’ve already told you. I’m here because I saw promise in you. I saw in you the possibilities of your own imagination, if only you were given a little bit of guidance and a modicum of inspiration, after all that’s what muses do.

“Right now you are free to explore the boundaries of your imagination, and when you rid yourself of the restrictions, both self-imposed and from outside influences, you are looking at a limitless journey into the land of make believe. A place where there is no one telling you that you can’t create whatever you and your imagination can conspire to bring to life.

“Think of this part of your journey as your own personal “yellow brick road” through your mind, and just free yourself to enjoy the wonder of it all as you follow it wherever it may lead you. Do so, and you will be amazed and delighted where you end up. Its like learning to play again, as you did as a child. You were good at it then, and you can be again. I saw evidence when you were living in Grand Forks after you were divorced, and you wrote a letter to Santa that ran in the paper there on Christmas Eve. So, I know you have that ability. Think of it this way, there are those people you know who don’t think I’m real, but you do.”

She had a point. “So, what I hear you telling me is that if I just don’t pay any attention to what anyone else thinks about what I’m doing right now, that I can pretty much say or write anything I want, as long as it pleases me.”

“Bobby, that is exactly what I’m saying. You can have as much fun as you want when you are exploring fancy, and creating out of the whole cloth of your own imagination that which exists nowhere else. And, I can see you are having fun doing what you are doing already. I know you are having fun, because I watch you when you’re working, and you are engrossed, laughing at times and sometimes, I think, wondering to yourself at what you are doing.

“The land of make believe is full of wonderful colors, sights, and sounds, and it’s the dreamers that make it such a magical place. I think of it as somewhere you will find you can create the kind of place and time you will.”

I had to admit I was enjoying these flights of fancy, and have never indulged myself to this degree in my life and I do find it liberating. I thought then that while Suzanne had come to visit unannounced, I had a bigger part in bringing her here than she will admit to.

She said, “Not so fast Bobby, I heard that last thought. You didn’t bring me here. I chose this assignment, you merely let me come through the door, and as I recall, you didn’t try to run me off.”

“Well,” I said, “It was just Bailey, Brandy and me here, and we had room, and besides, I had never seen a muse that looked quite like you in my life.”

She just smiled and said, “Now you’re playing with me, aren’t you?”

Now it was my turn to smile, and I said, “Right now that’s what I live for.”

Take care, be well and keep in touch.

Bob

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

