Morning Update

Good morning all. This is Your Morning Update, February 20, 2012.

Suzanne started out our Sunday night conversation with, “I talked to my mother about you last night, and I told her what you had said about in all poetry there is music, and in all music there is poetry, and she was impressed, and thinks you have promise.”

“Really,” I said, “you don’t mean the world famous Muse, Calliope can be impressed by what some unknown guy in Bismarck says?”

“Now, Bobby, I didn’t say she was that impressed, only that she thought you have some promise.” She quickly said.

“Well, that sounds like damning with faint praise, but I’ll take it, and tell her I appreciate hearing that from her.”

“She also told me she would like to meet you someday.”

I thought, “Just what I need, another Muse taking over my life.” I told Suzanne, “I’m not sure I need another Muse here. This place is already small. What I could really use is an editor who could catch my errors, you know, the ones that come back to haunt you after it’s to late to correct them.”

She said, “Bobby, she wouldn’t be here to work with you, she knows that’s my job, and the last thing she would do is interfere, she just thinks you would be an interesting person to become acquainted with.”

“Well, you just tell her the next time you Tweet, text or do whatever you do to keep in touch with her, I think she would be an interesting person to become acquainted with, and I would like to meet her as well. I would like to meet the mother of this woman who has turned my life upside down. By the way, are you on Twitter, or do you close your eyes and conjure her up, or just how do you keep in touch. Is there some kind of Muse code you use that can only be understood by other Muses, or what?”

“Bobby, we have our ways, and they are not all that mysterious.” (Then she showed me her iPhone.) “And, she told me to also tell you she seriously doubted that the steam calliopes you referred to the other day were named after her.”

This time I laughed, and said to her, “I know that. I just made that up. Kind of like what I do with a lot of this stuff. But, I guess she did stop and think about it, and you must admit, you weren’t sure yourself.”

“I have already warned her you are capable of such things, and she told me she thought she could handle it, after all, she’s been around a lot longer than you.”

“So,” I asked, “when will she want this meeting to take place?”

All Suzanne would say is, “She will let me know, and it could happen anytime, unless she changes her mind. Or, then it might never happen, or it might happen tomorrow, or it might happen next month, depending on her mood and whatever else she has on her plate.”

I said, “Now, at least I know she’s human. She sounds just like a lot of women I’ve known in my life.”

Suzanne said, “Bobby be careful now, you are being an imp, but I think she might like that too.”

She winked at me and we both laughed.

Take care, be well and keep in touch.

Bob

“Every heart sings a song, incomplete, until another heart whispers back. Those who wish to sing always find a song. At the touch of a lover, everyone becomes a poet.”
–Plato

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

