Peanut Butter and Muses

Good morning. This is Your Morning Briefing, March 1, 2012.

Let it be known that March is coming in like a somewhat frisky lamb in Bismarck, ND, otherwise known as the Sunbelt of the Northern Plains.

Today is National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day, which coincides nicely with March being National Peanut Month. So, grab your spoon open your Jif, or Skippy jar and get ready to celebrate. And since it is also National Celery Month, you might try a some peanut butter on a celery stick for a little snack. This message has been provided as a public service from the National Celery Board and the Jimmy Carter National Peanut Association.

Suzanne got back from her visit with her mom and other muses where, I assume they got together and talked about all of the museology they were doing and the inspiration they were inspiring among their respective charges.

I’ve always wondered about their job of inspiring, and so I asked Suze, “Since it has been the job of muses since forever to inspire poets, artists, writers, etc. who inspires the muses? I know there were nine original muses that came out of the union of Zeus and Mnemosyne, and your mother Calliope was one of them, but I still don’t know where they get their inspiration? I mean there has to be a beginning. And, by the way, your grandma’s name is hard to pronounce.”

“Bobby,” she said, “you are asking me one of those chicken or egg questions, and you will just have to wait until mother comes to visit to ask her. As for me, I go along with everything mother says. As for my grandma’s name, just try it this way, ‘nee-mos-uh-nee’. Since she was the ancient Greek goddess of memory, do you think you can remember that?”

I think I can remember that. I’ll just think of it this way, Menomonie/nee-mos-uh-nee. I think even the goddess of memory would approve of that memory trick.

Take care, be well and keep in touch.

Bob

“No matter how happily a woman may be married, it always pleases her to discover that there is a nice man who wishes that she were not.”
–H.L. Mencken

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

