Musings

A Human Touch

In the evening at 1821 N. 11th St., my two Siamese friends, Brandy and Bailey take advantage of the two living room chairs I have, and spend most of the night napping. The only time they look up, or move is when I stop by after adjusting the thermostat, and reach down to gently pet each of them in turn. They look at me, and make quiet mewing sounds, and don’t move.

As I stroke their fur slowly, and look in their eyes, it makes me realize how vital the physical human touch is, even for animals. They remain still while I pet them, as if to move would bring the moment to an end, and when I do stop, they relax back into their nap.

I’ve always known how much our dogs and cats need, and want, a physical, human touch, and they are not any different than we are in that regard.

I guess I’ve always known that too, but tonight for some reason, looking in Brandy’s eyes as I stroked her fur, I realized again how important it is.

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

