Rage, Hope and Sadness

Reflections on the human condition from guy sitting out here on the prairie on a cold night.

60 Minutes tonight presented stories that both enraged me, gave me hope and saddened me, all in the space of, well, about 60 minutes.

The first was the story about the Syrian dictator Assad starving his own people. Apparently just killing them was not enough for him, and so he had decided on starving men, women and children and forcing them on long journeys to Jordan to find help. A journey that many do not survive.

My outrage came as I realized, sitting here in the relative comfort of my 1975 Rollohome on this cold November night watching Scott Pelley’s story on the issue of hunger and refugees from Syria, that our country, the so called leader of the free world, and our so called allies are all sitting on their collective ass while Assad continues to kill, and starve his own people.

Where is the leadership from our President against the atrocities, and don’t tell me ,”It’s more complicated than that,” that is bullshit. Here we have a man who we know is killing his own people, and we are doing nothing. Where are our allies? They too are doing nothing to stem the carnage in Syria. What the hell is wrong with these people? What the hell is wrong with us?

Okay, take a deep breath. Phew, that’s better.

Then, came the story about the “lion whisperer” in South Africa. This story warmed my heart and gave me hope.I really love those big cats and would love to be able to interact with them like the subject of the story does. It gave me hope that not all humans are insensitive animals themselves.

I was saddened when the rest of the story also told of what they call “canned hunting camps” where rich guys with a spare $100 thousand or so to spare, come and shoot these beautiful animals whose life at the petting zoo they had been bred into was over. The lions are basically brought to a camp, hunters get their high powered rifles and go out and shoot a beautiful big cat for a trophy, something to show the guys back home.

To his credit, the “lion whisperer” had taken 26 of his cats to a sanctuary of his own making where they are safe and can live and play with their human.

So, there you have it. In the short span of 60 minutes my emotions ranged from rage to warmth and joy and to sadness, all of it having to do with man’s inhumanity to man and man’s inhumanity to animals.

As I sit here writing this, I look around at my own two cats, one, Bailey, who is laying on the table, and wonder what they think. Bailey just looks at me with a look that says, “You guys are really messed up, but as long as you keep the treats coming, I’ll not say any more.”

I think she’s onto something. “Just keep the treats coming.”

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

