An Email From Suzanne

Suzanne’s Email From Athens

I got an email from Suzanne today, and yes, I guess even Greek muses take advantage of modern technology. She was in Athens for the Holidays, the best one for them, New Year’s Day, which is known as St. Basil’s Day. Don’t ask me.

This is her email:

“Dear Bobby,

“It was good to see you again, and spend a couple of days with you and Bailey and Brandy before Christmas. You always make me feel at home, and I do so enjoy our talks and evenings with wine and truffles.

“The holidays her in Athens were fine. I do enjoy coming home, as anyone does on days when family and friends are near, and there is much going on. The deli was busy, as you can imagine, and my dad, Homer was as busy as ever, especially with poets and writers all trying to get settled up with him as the year nears its end.

“We are getting ready for New Year’s Day, which here is a really big deal, bigger than Christmas. The children will all be out caroling on New Year’s Day, and will, if they are lucky will get some coin in return for their efforts.

“We will get gifts, and there will be some games of chance taking place all over. As you might think Absinthe will be flowing.

“Well, I hope this finds you well, and my mother says to be sure and tell you to “smash a pomegranate on the door on New Year’s Day.”

“I will be in touch.

“All my best to you and Bailey and Brandy, and Happy New Year.

“Your friend,

“Suzanne.”

I responded to her email right away.

In it, I thanked her for thinking of me, and wishing me a Happy New Year, but I wrote,
“You have left me with no idea what smashing a pomegranate on your door on New Year’s Day is supposed to symbolize, nor do I know if I should smash it on the outside of the door, or the inside of the door. Should you find time during your gambling and other New Year’s Day activities, perhaps you could enlighten me.

“Again, thanks for the email, and give my best to your folks, Homer and Calliope.

“Have a Happy New Year, and may you find the coin in the cake.

“Bob, Bailey and Brandy.

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

