Reflections on a Candle

One of Joanie’s Candles

If I might take a moment I’d like to talk about a candle, a candle that has shed its warm light on me for many years, one of Joanie’s candles. Now, please don’t go calling your friends, and asking them, “What the hell is wrong with Kallberg now?” It’s nothing really, just some musing on the passage of a candle. Is that so strange? You might think so, but I most certainly do not.

Tonight as the time ran out in the last football game of a day filled with football games, time also ran out for one of Joanie’s candles. For those of you who don’t know me, I sometimes attach a meaning to things that have some importance in my life, for one reason or another. Or, just because they remind me of another time and another place.

Anyone who knew Joanie, knew that she loved candles and candlelight, and our house during the holidays was filled with candles. Tea lights, round candles, big candles, tapers and candles of various colors were always in evidence in our house during this time of year, and on many nights, all of them were lit.

The one that flickered its last tonight had been a round one, like a ball with a flat spot on the bottom of it, and it was one of those I took with me when I left 1205 N. Mandan St. and it has been my practice that every year during the holidays, I would bring it out and let it cast its warm glow on my table along with one or two others. It doesn’t look so good anymore.

FullSizeRender

You see, this candle, which was first lit when Joanie was alive, has lasted through seven holidays since she died in 2008, and as I looked at it tonight while its flame flickered its last, I remembered why she liked candles, and why I do too.

I also recall part of a line, “….I’ve got the candle lit for you to see…” from Trans-Siberian Orchestra’s “Music Box Blues,” those words make me stop and think about Joanie and her candles, Christmas and the New Year, and how much I still miss her during this time.

And now, I’m so glad that tomorrow is January 2nd, when I will put the remaining candle away until next Christmas. I think it still has a few holidays left in it, and who knows, maybe I do too.

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

