Suzanne’s New Year’s Text Message

It’s All Greek To Me

So, this afternoon, I got a notice on my phone that I had a text message for somebody.
I opened it, and found it was a text from Suzanne. It was a little after 9:00 P.M. in Athens, so I figured she had been dipping her nose in the Absinthe. This is the message she sent me.

Ευτυχισμένο το νέο έτος Bobby
Bobby Αυτό είναι το ψήφισμα του νέου έτους σας
Bang τύμπανο πιο δυνατά σας
Αυτό που ο κόσμος ξέρει ότι διάολε είμαι ζωντανός

I recognized my name, but other than that I had no idea what the hell she was saying, so I texted her back and told her, “Sweetheart, I’m Swedish, and this is all Greek to me. Even if it were in Swedish, I wouldn’t be able to understand it. So just what does it mean.

Shortly I got a reply. “Bobby,” she said, “I was just trying to wish you a Happy New Year, and send you a New Year’s resolution you should consider. I will translate for you.”

What she said it meant, near as I could figure, was this.

“Happy New Year Bobby.
“Bobby, here is a resolution you should consider.
“Bang your drum louder!
“Let the world know that dammit I am alive!”

Not sure exactly what drum I was supposed to beat louder, and since I didn’t even have a tambourine, I didn’t know what to do.

I said, “You’ve been having a good time tonight with your friends at the club haven’t you, and I don’t suppose you could elaborate on what you mean.”

“Oh, Bobby, just think about it, and if you still don’t know what I mean by tomorrow, perhaps I will try to make myself more clear later, but right now I have to have a bit of a nap.” She said.

“It’s the Absinthe, isn’t it,” I asked.

She never replied, which led me to believe that was it.

I guess what they say about the Greeks really taking celebrating seriously on New Year’s Day and St. Basil’s Day is true.

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Suzanne and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

