Where The Popsicles Are-164

Joanie Wigen

Joanie Wigen

I couldn’t let this date pass by without saying something, and not being sure what I should say, I just looked at what I had said before, and thought that was good enough. So, here it is again.

The Chocolates of My Mind

May 10th.

Birthdays count years.
They are the markers we use
To measure the time of our lives.

From the first to the last,
They tell the world a person was,
And how long they were.

It’s Joanie’s birthday today.
That day that marks her time
From the first to the last.

No calendar reminds me,
No notes remind me.
I just know.

Birthdays tell the world a person was,
But they don’t tell why a person mattered.
That’s a job for the people they touched.

Tonight, on your birthday,
I will be alone, but not totally.
I will have a Martini and remember, why you mattered.

Our feline friends will get treats,
They won’t know why, or wonder,
But I will tell them, “We’re having a birthday party.”

View original post

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Joanie's Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

