Thanksgiving Reflections

This is one of those stories I have told before. My thoughts always come back to this every year around Thanksgiving. The events mentioned here are pre-Joanie, and the Thanksgiving memories of our time together, as brief as it was, are subject for another time. Some of you may have seen this before, but the message and the moral is still the same. Happy Thanksgiving.

The Chocolates of My Mind

The Tuna Fish Thanksgiving

As this old guy sits here on the prairie and the Thanksgiving holiday nears, a melancholy wave rolls over me. From my humble Rollohome I sit here with my two Siamese friends and reflect on Thanksgivings past.
This holiday brings back images from other times. Some are images of the type of picture one might expect. There are the images of being home with family, a table groaning under the weight of the food associated with this most American of holidays, and sisters and brother all near and football on TV and after the feast, and a fair bit of wine and for some, naps.

Over the years, my Thanksgivings have been warm and times that I’ve enjoyed with family, going back to my days as a youngster, which basically ended in 1959 when I joined the Army, and would begin missing Thanksgiving at homes, at…

View original post 651 more words

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Joanie's Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving Reflections

  1. Virginia Stringer says:

    Hi Bob. Thank you for keeping connected through your blogs. I always enjoy reading them and think of you and Joan often. What love you shared between you. Is your Bismarck address still the same? Ed and I fly to MSP December 13 to spend Christmas there. Thanksgiving in Florida is one thing but we always head north for the Christmas holidays. Let us know if you make it our way. Love to you, Ginny

    _____________________________________________ Virginia L. Stringer 651.341.8870

    2681 Coconut Drive Sanibel, FL 33957

    1135 Kingsley Circle South Mendota Heights, MN 55118

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

