When I Was A Boy

“When I was boy, with candy and toy, Christmas was a happy time. But now I am old and the world grows more cold…….” And I can’t remember the rest of the lyrics to the opening song of a Christmas play in Carrington when I played the part of the grandfather, and Deanna Anderson played the grandmother. I had never sang before an audience alone up to that point.

I think we were in 7th or 8th grade, and it was our first time on stage, and it felt natural, even though we really didn’t know what the hell we were doing.

The plot of the play, briefly, was this. Grandpa and grandma are expecting their son and his family home for Christmas Eve, but weather was threatening, and there was uncertainty about whether or not they would make it home, or get caught out in the storm.

This of course gave grandpa and grandma time to fret, stew and wait for a phone call that would tell them they were okay and were on their way. It also gave them time to reflect on other Christmas Eves, which when you think about it required some acting skill since we were barely old enough to remember our own experiences.

I don’t even remember now if there were any more songs, though there might have been, but mercifully, the parents in attendance were spared.

The long and the short of it was that their son and his family made it through the blizzard and were there to share Christmas Eve with grandpa and grandma, and the night was magic.

Why I remember those words from a song sung so long ago, I don’t really know, but I do know that every Christmas that comes around, those words echo through the years.

On this Christmas Eve, with Bailey and Brandy now down for a nap after they’ve had their treats, with some of my favorite Christmas music playing, I sit here and those words come rushing back for a moment, and I think of the words I sang, as a child, and “now that I’m old,” how much they mean today, even though I can’t remember the rest of the song.

Merry Christmas

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When I Was A Boy

  1. And to you as well, Robert Kallberg. I really enjoyed this piece…I am often lost in the memories of Christmas Past…and they are not all happy memories…we shall have to share that over a beer sometime while we are both still on the right side of the grass…God bless….
    MIke

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

