Bailey

img_0936

 

She rests under the covers on the bed now.
I spend some time stroking and petting her frailness,
Hoping, like with humans, physical touch eases the pain.

I look at her, and I bring her out of hiding,
to the counter where her dishes and water wait.
She takes a sip of water and a nibble of treats.

She sits on the counter, looks around, thinner,
but then jumps down to the floor and trots to the bedroom.
Looking at the bed, I raise the blanket and make a hole for her.

It seems she has no more need of me.
The darkness and warmth of the the hole I’ve made is enough.
I fear I’m losing her

About Bob Kallberg

Retired reporter. Concentrating now on recounting Joanie's 12 year battle with cancer, a battle she waged with extreme courage, determination and an indomitable spirit, that, for me, serves as an example.
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Hi Bob – very nicely said – Bailey has been a huge part of your life and great comfort to you -hope it will go smoothly for you –

    We are fine with not many age related problems – I did 5 weeks ago had a long anticipated heart valve (TAVR) replacement – all went well and was very impressed with the excellent care received –

    Still enjoy the insurance work- Tove is very busy with volunteer work and Kiwanis-

    Hope all is well with you Bob – our very best to you — Tove and Dirk

    DIRK VANDERBLUE CPCU LUTCF vanderblue@aol.com 203-255-4716

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

